8 Replies - 879 Views - Last Post: 11 July 2013 - 07:56 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Small Program FeedBack

Posted 01 July 2013 - 11:34 AM

Hello Community,

I have just created my first ruby program and I would like some feedback on it. I am very excited about learning this new language and have come to learn many things about it these last couple of days. I am coming from a basic/intermediate level C++ and C# background and I am just expanding my knowledge to learning other languages. I am still fairly new at programming and I am doing as much as I can reading the wonderful resources by community experts here. Please let me know how I can improve this small Rock, Paper, Scissor Program further to achieve a more readable and possible standard approach using the ruby way. I would like to further minimize the amount of lines in this program and use best practices that I haven't yet learned. Please hit me with all of your knowledge and feel free to ridicule me about the code if required. Thank You.

class Game

def initialize

# Calling the introduction method
    introduction

if playGame

# Calling the playerChoices method
      playerChoices

print "\nChoose one Player 1: "
      @player1_Choice = gets.chomp
      playerChoices
      print "\nChoose one Player 2: "
      @player2_Choice = gets.chomp

# Calculating the game results method
      gameResult
    else
      print "very well, next time then."
    end
  end

def introduction
    print "Welcome to a game of Rock, Paper and Scissors!\n"

end

def playerChoices
    print "\nPlease choose your destiny!\n"
    print "1.Rock\n2.Paper\n3.Scissors\n"
  end

def playGame
    print "Would you like to play a game? Y/N : "
    @play = gets.chomp.upcase
    if @play == "Y"
      return true
    else
      return false
    end

end

def gameResult
    print "\nOkay the winner of the game is: \n"
    player1 = @player1_Choice
    player2 = @player2_Choice
    if player1 > player2