2 Replies - 6490 Views - Last Post: 02 July 2013 - 12:44 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

reading in a .txt file and displaying it properly

Posted 01 July 2013 - 03:02 PM

Hello all. I'm really new to Pearl, and I've been working on a solution to this problem. My professor gave several problems (non-graded) in different languages to practice for our final at the end of this week. Only thing is, it's a condensed class and we briefly touched on Pearl, but I'd like to get into it more. Here's the problem (I know it's long):

It should read the file from the filehandle STDIN. so, no opening of files necessary--you can just start reading.

Each line consists of a series of fields, separated by tabs ("\t").

The file starts off with a single header line, in which each field is the label for that corresponding column. After splitting the line up into fields at the tabs, scan the list of fields for certain patterns:

A header field called "Name" indicates the "student name" column.
A header field called "Email" indicates the "email address" column.
Any header field that contains the substring "Problem": e.g., "Problem #1" or "Extra Credit Problem", indicates a column containing a grade for that problem. For each of these grade colums, the very next column holds a comment for that grade.

There might be other columns, which you should ignore. Also, the columns are in no particular order (except that each "Problem" column has the corresponding comment column immediately after it).

The rest of the file consists of student grades, one student's record per line. Each record contains that student's name, email address, numerical grade for each problem, and a comment for each problem, in the order specified by the headers. As with the headers, any other fields can be safely ignored.

For each student record, you should do the following:

Break the line up into fields at tabs.
Print out "Name: ", followed by the student's name, then a newline.