8 Replies - 1359 Views - Last Post: 05 July 2013 - 06:46 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Grade 11: What Now and What's Next (Career/Education Advice Needed

Posted 05 July 2013 - 03:42 AM

About Me:
I'm a 17 year old male living in Canada with an interest in computers.

I am interested in a variety of things computer related. First and foremost, I really enjoy programming. I've taken a Grade 11 and 12 High School Computer Science course, learning about programming in Java, OOP, data structures, recursion, interfaces, design, etc. I can write basic GUI and CLI based programs in Java and Python, and I have done some experimentation with Haskell. I am not very good at Haskell, and I only understand the core basics, with vague knowledge of monads, monoids, functors, etc., but I really enjoy Haskell none the less. I also enjoy the hardware side of computers, causing me to buy each of my computer parts separately, and wiping it together myself (easy ;D). I own a Raspberry Pi, which I use for two things: a headless server, and I also tinker with a breadboard, hooked up to it. Lastly, I enjoy system admisistration; Linux being my primary operating system.

Personally, I can't see myself really doing any of that stuff other than programming as a job though, so I feel that programming is my career calling. If you don't count all the essentials of life (food, sleep, video games), I spend my spare time programming.

About My Education: