5 Replies - 1197 Views - Last Post: 18 July 2013 - 09:08 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

I am extremely split..

Posted 18 July 2013 - 03:03 PM

This is gonna be part rant, part whining, and just a cry for advice.
Let's just start off with...

I love programming... I have been doing it for 3 1/2 years, and still feel like my passion for it hasn't slowed. My state has a great vocational school program. I took a computer programming class at one of the schools for 2 years while I was in high school. The school is even free for me until I am 24. I am currently enrolled for college this fall. (Which gives me less than a month.) Thanks to some recent changes in my financial/family situation, I am not sure I will be able to pay for college. Loans are not gonna be enough to cover the cost, and I don't think it's gonna happen. (I get to go talk to an adviser next week to make sure.) Even if I get the money together, I know I will barely be able to get through. This has been making me think lately about how important a degree actually is. (Don't we all reach that point somewhere in our lives?) This started my research to find the answer. Sadly..a degree can make all the difference. Many agree that a degree should not decide, but the individual experience/skill of the programmer. I was told that the main reason for wanting a degree is to make sure the employee is dedicated. If they are willing to do 4 more years of school, then they must be dedicated. Right? This is where my split comes in..