6 Replies - 301 Views - Last Post: 26 July 2013 - 11:06 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How sophisticated at a professional level?

Posted 21 July 2013 - 03:23 AM

Hi there,

I have been bothered by a rather broad question lately. I've been teaching myself python for around 4-5 months and django for around 2 months; at this point I can make a database driven site with users, user profiles, app scripts with cron, use south to modify models, work a unix box. Haven't gotten the front-end side down yet(probably Twitter BS or some other easily workable front-end framework)

I plan to make this a profession(hopefully :\) after I graduate from college(Business admin degree), and my question is - how sophisticated does your level of knowledge need to be to be accepted as a junior dev somewhere?

I mean, I love writing code and all, but I just feel like all the projects I make (4-5 models per app) look too simple for anyone to ever hire me to do this professionally.(and there's no way I can test it out either, because junior dev job descriptions are terrifyingly needy)

TL;DR - How sophisticated/complex was the code-base at the last place you worked at/are working at? I'm not necessarily talking like neural networks or machine learning, but rather django news sites or ecommerce sites etc.

p.s. I realize 5-6 months of exposure might sound like very, very little, and perhaps my question just sounds naive to some of you who are experienced, but I don't have any mentors or anything(not a CS student, remember? :)/>)

Cheers,
Marty.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How sophisticated at a professional level?

• Pragmatism over Dogma
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How sophisticated at a professional level?

Posted 21 July 2013 - 12:26 PM

A pretty global problem I kept running into as well. The thing isn't necessarily complexity, as much as finished projects.