4 Replies - 1178 Views - Last Post: 24 July 2013 - 07:23 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Making a career change, CS vs. IT

Posted 22 July 2013 - 06:28 AM

I'll make this as brief as possible. At 25 years old, I am considering a career change because I do not find my current profession to be fulfilling. I have a degree in Exercise Science and decided not to return to school to become a Physical Therapist. I know there are great job prospects and I would be very much in demand, but I don't see it being something that I would like.

I started working with computers when I was 8-9 years old, when I started teaching myself how to use Windows 95. Ever since then, I have always been somewhat tech savvy. In high school, I took a computer electronics course which was pretty much a preparation for the CompTIA A+. In addition, I taught myself some basic PHP coding, as well as the HTML/CSS that I had been using since junior high school.

I ultimately decided to major in Exercise Science instead of Computer Science, which I am now regretting. After researching a variety of the career options that I have, I have taken an interest in systems administration and security-related positions. I know that a help desk position will likely get me going in the right direction, so I am trying to find someone that will hire me with little experience.

In addition to Systems Administration, I'm also interested in programming. Right now, I am just unsure of whether or not 40+ hours a week of it would drive me crazy. I'm teaching myself Python, which I know is relatively easy to learn.