Best Laptop for a university student? (CompSci major)

• (2 Pages)
  • +

15 Replies - 2228 Views - Last Post: 12 October 2013 - 09:11 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Best Laptop for a university student? (CompSci major)

Posted 24 July 2013 - 01:37 AM

Hello everyone, I was wondering what would be the best laptop for programming. I am currently using my Macbook Pro not the newest one; I have been using this laptop for 3 years, and it is getting really laggy.... I guess my priority is fast and portable. Im not gonna play games on my laptop but watch videos so I was also wondering if my graphic card had to be top class.

THANK YOU SO MUCH IN ADVANCE! :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Best Laptop for a university student? (CompSci major)

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Re: Best Laptop for a university student? (CompSci major)

Posted 24 July 2013 - 05:20 AM

I like Asus--- since you might be using VS, a Microsoft compatible product might be the best way.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 24 July 2013 - 06:32 AM

This questions gets asked more then anything else. Starting to get annoying. Honestly, any (newer) laptop with a screen, a keyboard and a mouse pad will work. Unless your crunching quantum physics or complex graphic intensive programs, why would you spend 1-2 grand for something that honestly all you need is notepad++ or bare minimum specs to run your IDE?

I feel like college students use this excuse and get it in there head that " hey I'm going to college so let me spend tons of money on a laptop, cuz you know, I'll be coding the next windows or facebook".

Whether it's an AMD or intel, 4gb or 8gb, 250gb hd or 500hd, on-board or pci-e video card.. I'm pretty sure it will handle your "Hello World" app. Save some money and don't get that "god" laptop and be ready to pay off your student loans instead.

This post has been edited by shezzy: 24 July 2013 - 06:32 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -