3 Replies - 262 Views - Last Post: 24 July 2013 - 07:51 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Thread exception question

Posted 24 July 2013 - 07:27 AM

I'm new to threading in a multithreaded environment so please bear with me..

I created a very simple console program where i wanted to creates 4 threads, and throws a unhandled exception for the first thread and the rest of threads to run without errors. Here, the whole application terminates on the first thread, without Main completing the other threads.

So from this i learnt that an unhandeled exception on one thread cause the whole application to terminate. I was actually hoping that only the thread that caused the exception would terminate, and letting main complete its work.

So in a multithreaded app, if User A use the app to retrive some data, User A operation would be affected by an error from another user's operation on that app.

I know try,catch statements can prevent this, but from reading i learnt it isn't a good practice to add these statements all over my code for the sake that an error may arrise without handling it properly. You don't know the error specifically, and can't handle the exception efficiently. but generally i like my app to throw exceptions to be thrown so that errors can be logged

so my question would be is there a way where an exception in one thread cannot terminate the whole application

i tried googling but no luck

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Thread exception question

#2 Curtis Rutland  Icon User is online

• (╯□)╯︵ (~ .o.)~
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Thread exception question

Posted 24 July 2013 - 08:12 AM

but from reading i learnt it isn't a good practice to add these statements all over my code for the sake that an error may arrise without handling it properly. You don't know the error specifically, and can't handle the exception efficiently. but generally i like my app to throw exceptions to be thrown so that errors can be logged