3 Replies - 225 Views - Last Post: 25 July 2013 - 08:31 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Creating a new searching program from scratch

Posted 25 July 2013 - 07:43 AM

Hi all,

I am quite new to programming in general, but I got enough free time to start a little project I had in mind since a long time ago.

I am familiar with part of the c#
syntax (and in general I know where to find what I am looking for). But creating a program from scratch is something totally new for me.

I would like to create a small & simple application were a user can search terms and come up with a series of results (all inside the application itself, no web). Selecting a results will show the corresponding text in another part of the window.

I create a scheme to show what I would like to create.

Let me explain further with an example
Me and my friend, we play quite a lot RPG (D&D, Vampires and so on)
Bringing and browsing the manuals each time is quite an effort. Therefore I would like to create an application that help get an answer in a quicker way.

Using the image I create, let's say that I want to create a tab to search all the spells in D&D. The user would type "help" in the search form, and come up with all the spell containing the word "Help" in the title. Then, he/she will select a result and come up with the desired spell description in the right side of the window.

Moreover, I would like to include a function that allows a user to input a an entry (e.g. a new spell).

What I would like to ask you is:

- since I lack the specific vocabulary to search for a solution on my own, which tutorials are indicated for this task?
- I would not refuse a "ready to go" code, but I am using this opportunity to learn some more about c#. Therefore I would like to do as much as possible on my own. Obviously, if there are part of code that I can already use (templates and so on), I welcome anything of the sort.