5 Replies - 974 Views - Last Post: 08 August 2013 - 08:00 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Visual Basic - Game development

Posted 03 August 2013 - 10:58 PM

Good morning. I'm a total newbie to Visual basic, but I'm learning pretty well. I pretty much love games, And I wanna start making games in Visual Basic, But I've heard many stuff that, use C++/C#/C. I never really tried any of those. I started out Visual Basic about a week ago, And I'll say I'm going good. But my question is : Is Visual Basic a good programming language? If not, Which one should I go for?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Visual Basic - Game development

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Visual Basic - Game development

Posted 04 August 2013 - 07:07 AM

I love visual basic. It's my strongest language. You'll get a lot of opinions all over the internet about which language is "best" but those are just that, opinions. At the end of the day you are the one who has to decide which language is best for you, When it comes to game development though, in my experience it's been difficult to find tutorials in VB.Net. Most have been C#, Python, or Java. I did find one really good VB.Net tutorial for XNA though and it can be located here Adventures In XNA this person goes into depth with all his tutorials, and is absolutely amazing at explaining them.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Fire giant boob nipple gun!
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 04 August 2013 - 08:55 AM

I understand that XNA will no longer be developed. There are a few alternatives (for .NET) discussed here at lifehacker.

As you've been looking into VB.NET for only a week, and its going well, I would progress with it for a while. Cover all the fundamentals that you'll need for any programming language:

Variables, loops, conditionals, functions, arrays, collections, etc.
(I have a tutorial linked in my signature.)