Where is programming part while working with UDK

• (2 Pages)
  • +

21 Replies - 2583 Views - Last Post: 09 August 2013 - 01:09 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Where is programming part while working with UDK

Posted 07 August 2013 - 09:26 PM

I am learning to work on UDK and now I know a lot of stuff. I am wondering, How and when will actual coding part will come into the scene.
Am I even on the right track?
Cause I created a map on UDK, And that's all I did. Everything else was handled by UDK i.e Player's movements, Enemy AI, Weapon's mechanism, Vehicles' mechanism.
So I am getting a feeling that I am not doing the right thing to become a game programmer.
PS- Sorry if I sound paranoid, Cause actually I am, right now.

About me-
As you can imagine by topic's heading, I am new to Game Programming.
I already know C (Studied from Dennis Ritchie),C++, Java(core) and have a lot of experience with these three. I am a graduate CS Engineer so I know basics of computer graphics.
Currently Learning python side by side.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: Where is programming part while working with UDK

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Where is programming part while working with UDK

Posted 07 August 2013 - 09:59 PM

BUMP
Anyone?
Was This Post Helpful? -2
  • +
  • -

• Here to help.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 August 2013 - 10:22 PM

You may not get much of an answer to this until tomorrow. It can take 24 hours to get an answer pretty easily.

In my opinion, yes, you're on the wrong track. You've probably learned a lot about what a game engine looks like on the outside, but my experience with the Torque 3D engine taught me that you really don't know anything until you basically know how to write the engine yourself.