• (2 Pages)
  • +

17 Replies - 1345 Views - Last Post: 13 August 2013 - 01:27 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

[C#, XNA] My Experience With Learning Game Programming

Posted 10 August 2013 - 05:10 PM

Hey Everyone!

I'm new to the community, and have decided to write about my experiences with learning Game Development, to provide some background, as well as to ask for some guidance on what to do next.

Recently, about less than a month ago, I decided to get into Game Development, and of course, as any beginner starts out I started looking for resources and tutorials. I have had some previous knowledge of the basic concepts of programming (with Pascal): variables, declarations, loops, arrays etc. So after reading a lot of blogs and articles on what to start with, I decided that I knew enough to get started with C++ which everyone was saying is terrible for beginners (and they were right).

After a few days of watching tutorials (and to my surprise I was doing pretty good), writing some code and having troubles with some topics that in my opinion were really badly explained. I tried following a tutorial on making a Pong clone in C++, and that's where I saw why everyone was saying that C++ was indeed bad for beginners (we are talking BEGINNERS!), and the complexity of the code was really unnecessary for making beginner games. It did not feel like giving up, but more like understanding why I should start with a more beginner friendly language, and ending off with C++ later along the line.