14 Replies - 1333 Views - Last Post: 14 August 2013 - 10:02 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Just asking..

Posted 13 August 2013 - 08:41 AM

Hello. I just want to ask you guys about me, learning C++. Basically, I have a little background in C and as far as I know, I'm already reading Exception Handling in Java. But when I surfed the net, I found out that C++ is better when it comes to creating softwares, etc. I'm a 3rd year IT student here in the Philippines, but I want to be a programmer. In our department, the professors are not that diligent enough to teach Java or C in deeper sense because they are saying that we are just IT students, not Computer Science. That's why I'm teaching myself through books. This is my situation, so I will be a 4th year student next year and that will be the time for our thesis and I'm planning to create a software. Now, I don't know If I should continue learning Java or I'll switch to C++ as early as now? I will not object to your opinions here guys. All answers will be appreciated. Thanks in advance! :D

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Just asking..

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Just asking..

Posted 13 August 2013 - 08:48 AM

I found out that C++ is better when it comes to creating softwares, etc.

So that's not wholly true. It depends on the software, platform, etc. I mean - heck, Java is the backbone of Android and I think that qualifies as software.

This is my situation, so I will be a 4th year student next year and that will be the time for our thesis and I'm planning to create a software. Now, I don't know If I should continue learning Java or I'll switch to C++ as early as now?

It depends on what you are making, what you want to get out of this project, etc. Also - why not just learn both?
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Engineer
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 13 August 2013 - 12:14 PM