5 Replies - 1479 Views - Last Post: 14 August 2013 - 10:34 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

College Starts in a Week and I'm Freaking Out

Posted 13 August 2013 - 12:17 PM

So I start college in a week and I'm freaking out. A bit dramatic? Maybe. Any who, I applied to the school and got in as a Computer Science major. Now I'm having second thoughts! I want to change my major already! I'm afraid that everyone will come in with so much more experience than me that I'll look stupid and fall behind. I do code in my own time but in the web development realm (I'm a beginner learning HTML/CSS/PHP).

I'm afraid that I'm too stupid to actually understand the course work and everyone will look down on me. I took AP CS in high school and loved it and passed the AP test but I feel like I'll just bomb it in college. I'm also a minority female so I feel like everyone by default will look down on me, and think I'm in the career just for the money. I've gone to a few tech camps and I find programming fun! Also, I went to a meet-up with some people who will be going to my college and I met a guy who will also be in the computer science program. He was extremely anti-social and I'm afraid that everyone in the program will be the same way! I love things like video games, comics, etc. so I feel like I'll have things to talk with people about. But, I feel like the people in my computer science classes will be anti-social and no one will talk to me! I'm so paranoid haha I'm also afraid people won't take me seriously because I like makeup, looking presentable, etc.

School hasn't even started and I'm contemplating switching to business. I've wanted to major in computer science as long as I can remember :(

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: College Starts in a Week and I'm Freaking Out

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: College Starts in a Week and I'm Freaking Out

Posted 13 August 2013 - 12:31 PM