0 Replies - 3587 Views - Last Post: 13 August 2013 - 06:02 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Attaching a movieclip to a specific frame

Posted 13 August 2013 - 06:02 PM

Here's the problem. I'm fairly new to messing with movieclips, this I'll admit, but I think I understand what I'm doing well enough. I have a random monster generator in my game, and so when it goes to the battle screen I need a specific sprite to load there, I accomplished that with this:

toBattleBtn.onRelease = function(){
	if (travelCheck == 1){
	switch(monOneName){
		case "Ghoul":
		gotoAndStop("battleScreen");
		_root.attachMovie("ghoulCursor", "monOneCursor", 10);
		monOneCursor._x = 400;
		monOneCursor._y = 400;
		break;
	}
	} else {
		worldMapDescription = "Travel where?";
	}
}

I didn't post the entire frame's code, but I showed the button that does the work really. it checks the monsters name and loads the appropriate spot into the movie, AFTER switching to the battle screen.

Now I noticed that after the battle, upon leaving that frame, the monster's sprite stays on the screen superimposed over everything else. K. That's... interesting. That's okay though, because I also need that same sprite to be removed upon death, so I just did that and called it a day.

for the player's sprite I just put it on the battle screen. No need to dynamically generate it, I mean the player's gonna be in every single battle right?

Now that I've explained all that, I'm gonna get to the point.

Eventually there's gonna be other people in the party and I'm gonna need to put them into battle.

I know that if you use attachMovie() to attach a movieClip, it attaches it to the entire timeline, as I could tell by the ghoul levitating over top of the victory/gameover screen.

What I want to know is, and it's okay if it's not possible, I can just add the sprite there on that frame, and then do this:

if (companionOneName = "";)/>{
	companionOneCursor._visibile = false;
}