Using images for left/right side borders

Page 1 of 1

6 Replies - 2281 Views - Last Post: 05 September 2007 - 01:57 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Custom CSS borders

Posted 04 September 2007 - 03:23 PM

Hey all,

I'm currently working on a site for a family friend's business. I'm pretty new to the web development "scene" though, so this is my first real project using CSS. I essentially dove in and started learning pretty quickly as I went, but alas, I ran into a problem.

Currently, I'm trying to make the main body of content have custom borders--not just rounded edges, but actual images on the top/bottom (I have this part working) and a left/right border image that will repeat along the y-axis for as long as the body content lasts (having trouble with this part).

I've tried a combination of different div setups and played around with the CSS code a bit, but to no avail. To try and explain this better, here's a screenshot of what I have currently: http://img213.images...picture1ky6.png

I have my main body of content, and what I'm wanting to happen is the custom left/right side border to repeat-y along the entirety of the body of content. It currently seems to shove the content down, though. (Note: the side border image is 1px high and is set to repeat-y. I currently have it set to be 100px tall just for testing purposes). For some reason when I try to set the side-border div id to height: 100% (in hopes that it would span across the entire area of the body/text content), it disappears.

Here's the relevant html/css code:

<div id="corners_top"></div>
			<div id="content-outer">
			<div id="border_sides"></div>
			<div id="content-inner">