1 Replies - 226 Views - Last Post: 18 August 2013 - 05:57 PM

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Doing Web Design As A Business On The Side What's Your Advice?

Posted 18 August 2013 - 05:21 PM

So I've had some programming experience in the past way in the past with unrelated languages and lately I've been moving more into C# and more modern languages including development for the web like PHP Javascript etc. I'm not going to say I'm the best programmer in the world but I don't think I am bad at this point probably somewhere in the middle. I've thought about creating my own web design business. I have a lot of questions here that you more experienced guys in the business can hopefully answer for me.

So the first thing I can't decide is whether or not I should provide reselling hosting to my clients. It appears that you can make monthly income off of this but I've also read a lot of horror stories on the internet in regards to people becoming re sellers and and having constant issues.

What are people's experiences here and is it worth becoming a re-seller if you're focus is on web design?

Lastly I don't want to go into too many details here, but I've analyzed my competition here in the local market and I have analyzed my competition. Many of them openly admit that they use WORDPRESS almost constantly for most of their clients.

I have nothing against wordpress, but it seems a lot of developers now think it's a be-all end-all for everything related to the internet.

I myself will many times use frameworks to help me (especially CSS frameworks like Bootstrap), but I consider that customization and talent where nothing is handed too you with the PHP MYSQL ,Javascript/Jquery HTML CSS etc. etc.

It looks like a lot of these cheaper web developers don't even program most of their stuff anymore. That said I've I'll admit I've never used Wordpress for complicated websites beyond CMS content management or blogging.