1 Replies - 1708 Views - Last Post: 20 August 2013 - 02:08 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

When will I know it is time to enter the private sector?

Posted 19 August 2013 - 01:42 PM

This is kind of a weird question, not conducive to exact answers, so a general opinion will be appropriate.

I graduated from a 2 year school about 2 years ago. I spent about 6 months doing full time QA then moved to Web App Development. I was lucky enough to score a job at a large company that has a very 'learner friendly' atmosphere, at least for the lower level developers.

SO far I have been the sole developer on all my projects and they seem to average around 3 months to finish, including client meetings, etc. In this 3 months I:

• Meet with the customer
  • Create a couple project specification documents
  • Design the database
  • Build the database
  • Design the application
  • Build the front end UI
  • Build the back end application
  • Test it, then send to QA
  • Deploy it to a server.

I am trying to evaluate when would be a good time to move out of this comfortable environment, to private development company (I am currently public sector). I have no evidence of this, but I am pretty sure the workload in private sector is going to be bigger and the demands to finish fast will be constant. I have no problem working hard and getting things done. My only concern is that I am not yet good enough to make it in the real world. Remember I have been programming for a total of 18 months.

I know I can't ask something like 'how long should a web app take to build' as that is a completely relative question. What I am hoping for are some general examples of projects with timelines, like "I have been programming for 6 years. I can put together a web app & DB with 6 tables (5- 10 columns each), 5 user interactive pages and 3 static pages, in blah days/weeks/months." Sorry for the wierd question, and Thank you for answering it anyway. :bigsmile:

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +