9 Replies - 2159 Views - Last Post: 26 August 2013 - 02:00 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

[Looking for coder] Minecraft Control Panel >commercial when finis

Posted 20 August 2013 - 09:40 AM

Hello there!

As you can probably tell by the title I'm looking to partner up with someone to make a Minecraft Control Panel.
If you don't know what Minecraft is, it's a sandbox game written in Java (minecraft (dot) net)

I'm a web developer with very good knowledge of PHP, HTML, CSS, MySQL and Javascript (a bit).

Since I would be doing the website part of the control panel (in Laravel, a PHP framework) I will need someone to code the software that controls a/the Minecraft server(s).
The way it works is that you have a Linux server on which Java instances (the Minecraft server software) are spawned.
Now the control panel would allow the user to interact with a web interface so they can Start/stop/restart their server, as well as have access to other features like backups, player list, console viewing and command sending.

The way I think would work best is to have an HTTP listener that waits for commands from the web interface, and interacts with the Java processes. (I know, it sounds a lot easier than it is. But I'd be happy to discuss this further)

Eventually once the product is finished, I would love to make it a public and commercial thing WITH you, selling the product to Minecraft hosts as a lot of new hosts are appearing.
Now there are already a few big panels out there, such as Multicraft, SpaceBukkit, McMyAdmin and CraftSRV (beta).

SpaceBukkit and McMyAdmin are not easy to use for mass-deployment (which is what a host would need) so I'm confident it will be possible to create a new product that allows easy mass-deployment with features others panel do not offer, especially if this product will be cheaper than Multicraft (around $0.55-$0.75 per Minecraft server).

If you're interested, please add me on Skype: refluxltd

Thanks in advance!

~ Jeffrey