3 Replies - 647 Views - Last Post: 24 August 2013 - 02:29 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Basic Task - Error using forms

Posted 24 August 2013 - 02:06 PM

Firstly, i am an amateur programmer so if I act stupid I do apologise.

Using java, I am trying to create a form to get a user's name, and then use this inserted name in a sentence, further down the page. So basically, "Welcome (name) to my page".

I have experimented with the basic code I know to use a form and extract data from the form - but I can't figure it out.

Any help with how I can use this form to complete a sentence using the user's name would be appreciated. These are my efforts so far.... (incomplete, obviously)

<form name="jacks">
Your name is:  <input type="text"> <input type="submit" value="CONFIRM!">
</form>

<script>
  var x = document.jacks.usersname.name;
  document.write ("Welcome" + x + "to my website")
</script>

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Basic Task - Error using forms

#2 andrewsw  Icon User is online

• It's just been revoked!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Basic Task - Error using forms

Posted 24 August 2013 - 02:24 PM

FYI java and Javascript are completely different languages, you can use JS if you want to abbreviate Javascript.

There is a lot wrong with your code so I suggest that you take a tutorial and study before attempting to write your own code. There is a Tutorials link at the top of this page. (I should not have to suggest this, it is common sense :dontgetit: )

This post has been edited by andrewsw: 24 August 2013 - 02:29 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 24 August 2013 - 02:27 PM

Give a name attribute to your input element like so
<input name="name" type="text">

You can then get a reference to it by doing
var usernameElement = document.jacks.name;

However! When you submit your form, you will either do a POST or GET to the webserver with the form data