11 Replies - 279 Views - Last Post: 26 August 2013 - 10:21 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Do I have to know about server configuration to be a web developer?

Posted 25 August 2013 - 08:27 PM

I love designing web sites and also love to program them. I am a PHP developer with 2 years of experience. Recently after working on a new project That I have decided to use a cloud server for I have noticed how little I know about servers and memory usage and RAM and stuff like that. Do I need to know this kind of stuff if I want to be a web developer?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Do I have to know about server configuration to be a web developer?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Do I have to know about server configuration to be a web developer?

Posted 25 August 2013 - 08:34 PM

I guess, in theory, no, but it is always good to have *SOME* knowledge of how your environment works.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Cheese and Sprinkles
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 25 August 2013 - 09:28 PM

I would have to say yes. I find it important to understand the environment you will be working on so you understand any "odd" errors that sometimes come up in some, but not other, environments.

Another thing is when working on the "Cloud", and you are in full control of your environment, you can make sure you are paying for only what you need.

Simply my point of view. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 25 August 2013 - 10:14 PM