5 Replies - 1805 Views - Last Post: 04 September 2013 - 02:45 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Ado.Net EF with SQL program design help

Posted 30 August 2013 - 01:46 AM

Hello,

I am fairly new to programming, and I have recently been challenged with a software project that I am finding myself a bit stumped on. I have a rather large relational database stored in Microsoft SQL Server. I am using Visual Studio 2010, C# (which I have little experience with), and entity framework (first time using). Essentially this is a Web Form application that takes an identifier from the user, and on submit needs to pull one record from about twenty different tables which makes up this persons data record.

I am new to entity framework, as well as even how to perform sql queries through .NET framework in c#

The identifier, lets call it UBI# isnt even in all of the tables, however they do all share relationship to each other through another primary key lets call it AppId.

I am having trouble getting the ball rollnig on the design for this or where to start. I have my GUI up and running, I have installed and connected to the database using Entity Framework which has created my model, but I just now dont really know where to go with it.

There is about twenty tables all having some relationship back to this RENEWAL table which contains the UBI#. Although this is one of the only tables that has the UBI, all of the tables have the AppID. how can I get all of these datasets?

I am just looking for a bit of design theory or psuedo code ideas as to the direction to go.