Programming Language for Game Development

• (4 Pages)
  • +
  • Last »

57 Replies - 31938 Views - Last Post: 02 September 2013 - 12:39 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Programming Language for Game Development

Posted 01 September 2013 - 12:22 AM

Hello all, I'm thinking of starting on Game development. The fact is I am a beginner in programming, and am on to learning C/C++ extensively. I would like to learn Animation in the future for this project. But I require some very basic information on some aspects of Game Development, like, what are the programming languages that are used etc. I know Animation plays a huge part in these things, but specifically, what languages are exactly used in programming the games like, Age of Empires, EA Sports Games etc. ?
Any useful tips for absolute beginners in game-development would be appreciated.
Thanks.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Programming Language for Game Development

• Dovakiin, Dragonborn
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Programming Language for Game Development

Posted 01 September 2013 - 12:41 AM

I don't mean to sound rude, but there are pinned topics at the top of this forum that you could have looked at, or even scrolled down a little. In saying that, this is your first post, so I will help you out as best I can.

C++ is the industry standard for making AAA games, and even smaller, lower budget games. You can use C++ with DirectX or OpenGL to create 2D or 3D games. Game development does take a long time, regardless of what you may think. There is also C# and XNA. XNA and C# are used in the development of XBox 360 games, and is somewhat easier for beginners.

I would suggest, that you learn C++ very well... I mean very well. Stick to the learning of this language, then focus on a graphics library such as DirectX or OpenGL.

If you stick with it long enough, and you are determined, you might actually make a game :)

I hope this helps.
Was This Post Helpful? 4
  • +
  • -