beginner game programming questions

• (4 Pages)
  • +
  • Last »

52 Replies - 30902 Views - Last Post: 05 September 2013 - 04:11 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

beginner game programming questions

Posted 03 September 2013 - 10:21 AM

hello, im new to programming(by new i mean, that i do not have the slightest of an idea how stuff works around here) and i want to program a game, not a grafically perfect AAA game, but a basic, simple 2D game, to show myself what i can do.however i DO NOT WANT TO USE AN ENGINE! i want to start from the roots. so here is the question What language should i use? i want my game to be either PC or IOS, doesnt have to be both, but it will be nice if it is. i want the language to be usable later in different, more complicated and higher class games, since im thinking of becoming a game dev(maybe... maybe). next question, what types of games are easier to make(of course i dont want a tic tac toe or something like that) even though i will put a lot of time and effort in it, i do not want to overrate my abilities and end up canceling the game. so these are my main questions, there are others that i will ask later on of course, but these are the main ones right now.

thanks to anybody who will answer this post. toko

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: beginner game programming questions

• フカユ
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: beginner game programming questions

Posted 03 September 2013 - 10:49 AM

Check out the stickies at the top of the forum or even check out my tutorials linked in my sig.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 03 September 2013 - 10:53 AM

Do you know any languages at the moment? It is advisable that you first learn the language well before you start diving into a big project like a game with it.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 03 September 2013 - 10:58 AM