5 Replies - 881 Views - Last Post: 06 September 2013 - 11:41 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How do you use modulus to get the value of pennies

Posted 05 September 2013 - 06:27 PM

Hello everyone. I'm new to the forum so please forgive my violations where they occur. (They're not intentional.) Also, for the most part I'm also new to programming. I began my junior year of computer programming this fall which entails PHP, JAVA, and Javascript/JQuery.(The only programming language that we've covered thus far is Visual Basic). This question is about Javascript.

I have an assignment due tomorrow night that calls for the student to develop an application that tells how many quarters, dimes, nickels, and pennies are needed to make change for any amount of change from 0 - 99 cents. As a hint it says: One way to get the results is to use the divide and modulus operators along with the parseInt method for truncation the results so they are whole numbers.

Here's what I have so far:

var $ = function (id) {
    return document.getElementById(id);
}

var make_change = function() {
		var cents = parseInt($("cents").value);

quarters = 25;
		dimes = 10;
		nickels = 5;
		pennies = 1;

var remainder = cents / quarters;
	       remainder = parseInt(remainder.toFixed(1));
	       totalDimes =(cents % quarters) / dimes;
	       totalDimes = parseInt(totalDimes.toFixed(1));
	       totalNickels = (cents % quarters) % dimes / nickels;
	       totalNickels = parseInt(totalNickels.toFixed(1));
	       totalPennies = totalNickels % pennies;
	       totalPennies = parseInt(totalPennies.toFixed(1));

$("quarters").value = remainder;
		$("dimes").value = totalDimes;
		$("nickels").value = totalNickels;
		$("pennies").value =totalPennies;

}			

window.onload = function () {
   $("calculate").onclick = make_change;

}