13 Replies - 1317 Views - Last Post: 10 September 2013 - 12:46 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Mathematics Question ... AND ... Computer Science Masters Question

Posted 10 September 2013 - 09:51 AM

All -

I am currently a CPA and am returning for a Masters in Computer Science at age thirty-nine. I will not get into all of the reasons for this decision but suffice it to say that quality of life is primarily determined by subjective factors; not objective factors. Money does not buy happiness but following one's heart does.

The question I would like to pose to the room is this: if you had three months to learn/refresh in the topics of Precalculus Algebra and Precalculus Trigonometry prior to taking a single CLEP test for those two courses (to place in Calculus I), what is the most efficient and effective way to study assuming you had forty hours each week over the three month period to prepare?

My thought is obviously to study a college level text book on the topic and then maybe take a week and review a CLEP study guide prior to the actual test. With that in mind, I am concerned that not all textbooks are equivalent and that some may emphasize certain mathematical topics at the expense of others, and that in turn may lead to my being less prepared for the CLEP exam.

I must also emphasize that while I have already studied mathematics through Calculus I, these studies have been several years back, and in the case of Calculus I were business oriented (less difficult). Soooo .... given the importance that a solid mathematics education has in computer science - and, also considering that I am interested in pure mathematics anyway - it seems best to take a slower, methodical and well studied approach in preparation for the CLEP exam.

My second question is related to the viability of a Masters in Computer Forensics and Security Management over a traditional Masters in Computer Science program.