Avoiding typematic delays and slow graphics processing

• (2 Pages)
  • +

15 Replies - 1002 Views - Last Post: 27 September 2013 - 07:35 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Avoiding typematic delays and slow graphics processing

Posted 14 September 2013 - 09:05 AM

Hi Guys,

I'm programming an open world rpg engine from scratch with Turbo Pascal. Been working on it for a few months now. There are two bits of the program I have not been able to find a solution for. (Note: I have been programming in general since 1997, started with basic then Turbo Pascal)

First of all, how do you get rid of the typematic delays. That is when for example you press the right arrow key for the player to move right the player will move once then there will be a delay then if you keep pressing right the player keeps moving. How is it that in games when you press right for example, that delay does not exist but the player keeps moving right until the key is not being pressed. I have used a boolean array in order to record whether a key is being pressed or not (see attached file for sample of Turbo Pascal code) but still get the delay.

The other problem I have is with graphics, whereby my logic and coding for displaying graphics is correct but when running the game in dosbox (only way to run Turbo Pascal app) with cycles maxed which means CPU (FX-6100) is running at max, the program does not execute fast enough and there is flicker on the screen which occurs when the program copies image from active page 1 and copies it to active page 0. Active page 1 is not seen by the player and is used to draw the pixels, which are then copied to active page 0 which is what the player sees. I suspect the program is not running fast enough as it depends on cpu to process graphics. I think I should be handling graphics processes to the gpu but how do I do that with Turbo Pascal? There are no tutorials for this (see attached files for sample of Turbo Pascal code).