JAVA Game Making....?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

19 Replies - 1991 Views - Last Post: 25 September 2013 - 09:40 AM Rate Topic: ****- 2 Votes

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

JAVA Game Making....?

Posted 15 September 2013 - 12:57 PM

Hello there,

I just started Programming in java, and my question is,
Is java good for making games that you can SELL?
I do not really know if java is good for developing games, and my only question is, Is java good for making GAMES.

Thank You. :smile:

PS.: Do not leave comments please like "lol n00b" etc.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: JAVA Game Making....?

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: JAVA Game Making....?

Posted 15 September 2013 - 12:59 PM

Moved to Game Programming.

Generally, no, Java is not a language used in the industry or making indie games. If you are interested in learning Java for your own purposes, we do have a Java Game Programming Thread you may find helpful. If your goal is to get into the industry, you'll want to look more at C++.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 15 September 2013 - 01:02 PM

View Postmacosxnerd101, on 15 September 2013 - 12:59 PM, said:

Generally, no, Java is not a language used in the industry or making indie games. If you are interested in learning Java for your own purposes, we do have a Java Game Programming Thread you may find helpful. If your goal is to get into the industry, you'll want to look more at C++.

Thank you
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

POPULAR

Although it does depend on where you intend on selling your games. If you are wanting to make games to sell on Android devices, then yes Java is the language for you, however other than that take macosxnerd101's advice.
Was This Post Helpful? 5
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

View Postmacosxnerd101, on 15 September 2013 - 07:59 PM, said: