0 Replies - 356 Views - Last Post: 15 September 2013 - 01:29 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Tips on beginner use of the FRDM-KL25Z Micro controller (Freescale)

Posted 15 September 2013 - 01:29 PM

well it seems hard to keep control of a broad topic so I guess I'll start asking many smaller, specific topics for now on.

To start off, here's the product page of my Micro controller:

FRDM-KL25Z

So this is my first Micro Controller, and I'm fairly new to this whole field, the most I have is some basic knowledge of C. In an effort to figure this out on my own, I have found how to set up the Micro controller, and start programming it using the web compiler. I found an example of the Hello World program to make the LED light blink, and using the C I know, I'm made loops and such to make the three different color lights (blue, green and red) blink at different intervals, I guess making a sort of light show if anything.

So I pretty much went with this code:

#include "mbed.h"

DigitalOut myled(LED1);

int main() {
    while(1) {
        myled = 1;
        wait(0.2);
        myled = 0;
        wait(0.2);
    }
}

and ended up messing around to make this:

#include "mbed.h"

DigitalOut myled(LED1);         //giving variables to all 3 lights to be used in main
DigitalOut myled2(LED2);        //LED1 = blue, LED2 = green, LED3 = red
DigitalOut myled3(LED3);

int main() {        //main function that starts off the program

while(1) {      //while loop that is set to true so that it will repeat indefinitely

myled = 1;      //controls the blinking pattern for the blue LED
        wait(0.2);
        myled = 0;
        wait(0.2);        
        myled = 1;
        wait(0.2);
        myled = 0;
        wait(0.2);
        myled = 1;
        wait(0.2);
        myled = 0;
        wait(0.2);

myled2 = 1;     //controls the blinking pattern for the green LED
        wait(0.1);
        myled2 = 0;
        wait(0.1);
        myled2 = 1;
        wait(0.2);