10 Replies - 1343 Views - Last Post: 17 September 2013 - 06:20 PM

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Job interview but no related experience

Posted 16 September 2013 - 10:22 PM

I'm not sure if this is proper place for me to ask this; if it isn't, would mod please move this to the proper forum then?

This Wednesday my university is holding something called TechFest. I recently heard about it and it a place where engineering and computer science majors go to find a job/internship related to their field. There are going tons of interviewers there. I am very excited to go to this, but I have no professional experience in at all in computer science. I only have about 6 months total experience (3 months from Panda Express 1 year ago and 3 months from an internship 3 years ago) and I am afraid that my lack of experience is going to hinder my chances of getting an internship. The only thing I have to show is that I have a basic understanding of Java and I have made some very VERY basic programs over the summer, the longest one being 300 lines of code. I am 22 and I feel that if I dont get an internship now, then I will be doomed!

Please, any help or suggestions is greatly appreciated.

PS: Would it be a bad idea to show them the short programs that I have created over the summer? Like should I print it out or save it to a usb?

Thank you.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Job interview but no related experience

• Whorediot
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Job interview but no related experience

Posted 17 September 2013 - 03:23 AM

Well they're coming to a college tech fair, they're expecting students with little to no experience. That's the point of the fair. Just have good interviewing skills and you're good to go.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

• Cabbage
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 17 September 2013 - 04:29 AM

You can't magic ten years of experience out of thin air but you can do better with what you have. Compare these: