Books for Objective-C, XCode, Cocoa, etc.

• (2 Pages)
  • +

22 Replies - 29340 Views - Last Post: 07 April 2016 - 12:57 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Books for Objective-C, XCode, Cocoa, etc.

Posted 05 December 2013 - 08:53 PM

This will also be helpful if you ever try Java. Most of what is in this book for C is almost exactly the same as Java. I am no expert at Java yet either but have done some of the basic stuff. Then if you try C# you will also see several similarities...although I thing C# is the easiest of the 3 to learn.

It is the Objective-C part that is so different than any of the other three.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 06 January 2014 - 03:36 PM

View Postderrellgore, on 18 September 2013 - 12:33 PM, said:

Just bought a Mac Mini specifically to learn to program for OS X first and then later try IPAD/IPHONE apps. Coming from .NET programming...Visual Basic and Visual C# which I have been doing on the job for years. Just want to try something new.

Looking for best books. Am thinking of trying the Big Nerd Ranch Objective-C and Cocoa programming books. Any body want to give a review of what you thought of these books...or suggestion to better books if they exist.
Thanks

Big Nerd is a good but I believe you should look at these three books and in this order.
IOS 7 Programming Fundamentals by Matt Neuburg
Programming IOS 7 - by Matt Neuburg
IOS 7 Programming Cookbook - by Vandad Nahavandipoor
Programming in Objective-C 3rd Ed, by Stephen G. Kochan
IOS 7 by tutorials 2nd ed by Ray Wenderlich
How to make an iPhone App by Matt Campbell
I have a very large collection of programing books and I use these as my bibles. As mentioned, I have a large collection of ebooks on computer programing using IOS which is my emphasis. IOS. I also go to school for computer science which is not so great, so I use my books to learn. They are great books for starters. If I can help you in any way please let me know.