8 Replies - 6834 Views - Last Post: 21 September 2013 - 02:20 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Datagrid? ComboBox? Something Else?

Posted 19 September 2013 - 06:49 AM

I'm new to WPF and have a question.

I'm writing a desktop application where the user will need to choose a record displayed in a control. There could be a couple hundred records to choose from.

Right now I'm using a datagrid for this, but it's just not very attractive. I thought about a combo box, but I felt like there were too many records for that. Is there another option I'm not thinking of?

If the datagrid is indeed the best choice, what steps do you recommend to make it look.. idk.. more polished?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Datagrid? ComboBox? Something Else?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Datagrid? ComboBox? Something Else?

Posted 19 September 2013 - 07:41 AM

Do these records have a title? A public number or something? I would say load just those values in a dropdown/combo box where the display value is those words and the data value is the public key for that record in the database..
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 19 September 2013 - 07:45 AM

The data would be either a device or a user.

Devices are only uniquely identified by the ID in the database, but the user wouldn't have access to that data. To them, the device will be recognizable by it's type, host name, and location (i.e. Router, Linksys, Room222) I think I need to display those 3 items at a minimum so the wrong device doesn't get selected.

The functionality of this is, say a user wants to delete a device from the database. They would be able to go to the Delete Device form, choose a device, then click delete. The code behind would then handle the deletion.

This post has been edited by synlight: 19 September 2013 - 07:46 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +