14 Replies - 1258 Views - Last Post: 03 October 2013 - 11:42 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Do people really use the "Big O" when programming?

Posted 29 September 2013 - 10:35 PM

I was just wondering if you guys really base your codes on the "Big O". My professor brought it up a few weeks ago and stated that we should always base our programs on the ones with the smallest "Big O" value, like O(1) or O(log n). In theory, it makes sense to me, but to always base your program on it does not really seem to be realistic for me...but that's probably because I'm still a noob.

Thanks.

This post has been edited by streek405: 29 September 2013 - 10:37 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Do people really use the "Big O" when programming?

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Do people really use the "Big O" when programming?

Posted 29 September 2013 - 11:22 PM

A lot of the practical points of complexity theory deal with that you want to write efficient code. Why would you use an approach that takes exponential time when an n log(n) time approach would work? A lot of the reason one studies theoretical computer science is to train oneself to think about efficient and effective approaches to problem solving.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Posted 29 September 2013 - 11:31 PM

View Postmacosxnerd101, on 29 September 2013 - 11:22 PM, said:

A lot of the practical points of complexity theory deal with that you want to write efficient code. Why would you use an approach that takes exponential time when an n log(n) time approach would work? A lot of the reason one studies theoretical computer science is to train oneself to think about efficient and effective approaches to problem solving.

Do you always have to right it out by hand, to solve for Big O, or do you just know the complexity by now?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -