4 Replies - 693 Views - Last Post: 07 October 2013 - 02:20 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 MaggieWu  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: 28-September 13

Errors in visual basic

Posted 06 October 2013 - 08:11 AM

Attached Image
I'm doing an example on my book and I'm following the steps but I still get this error. I don't know where I did wrong.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Errors in visual basic

#2 andrewsw  Icon User is offline

  • Fire giant boob nipple gun!
  • member icon

Reputation: 3517
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,008
  • Joined: 12-December 12

Re: Errors in visual basic

Posted 06 October 2013 - 08:28 AM

I would guess that you haven't renamed your ListBox to lstOutput and it is still called ListBox1.

Moving to VB.NET. VB6 and VB.NET are different languages.

This post has been edited by andrewsw: 06 October 2013 - 08:29 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 MaggieWu  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: 28-September 13

Re: Errors in visual basic

Posted 06 October 2013 - 08:34 AM

View Postandrewsw, on 06 October 2013 - 08:28 AM, said:

I would guess that you haven't renamed your ListBox to lstOutput and it is still called ListBox1.

Moving to VB.NET. VB6 and VB.NET are different languages.

I tried to rename it but it didn't work...
Sorry I'm new to this, how do I move it to VB.NET?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 andrewsw  Icon User is offline

  • Fire giant boob nipple gun!
  • member icon

Reputation: 3517
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,008
  • Joined: 12-December 12

Re: Errors in visual basic

Posted 06 October 2013 - 08:42 AM

I've already moved this to VB.NET.

What does "it didn't work" mean? Why can't you rename it - what error message does it give you?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 deery5000  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict

Reputation: 78
  • View blog
  • Posts: 973
  • Joined: 09-May 09

Re: Errors in visual basic

Posted 07 October 2013 - 02:20 AM

how do I move to VB.Net lol , you are very new to this :)


Ok, select your listbox on your form, on the properties pane (right click and show properties, if not already shown)

Look for (Name) this is where you set the name of the control lstOutput.

I think the real issue here is, you googled a piece of code (which is fine) and pasted it in your program without know what it does

lst typically used to increase the readability of the code lst used for listview

Intelisense is key for the beginner, for example enter the name of your control ie listview1 and put a full stop after it - listview1.

See what happened? you now can see all of the methods and properties available for that control :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1