Moving object any direction on the screen.

• (2 Pages)
  • +

20 Replies - 687 Views - Last Post: 07 October 2013 - 01:52 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Moving object any direction on the screen.

Posted 07 October 2013 - 09:33 AM

View Postmacosxnerd101, on 07 October 2013 - 04:31 PM, said:

You've had high school physics, trig or calculus right? Apply what you learned there to particle motion.

being able to think about problems mathematically is indeed important.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 07 October 2013 - 09:35 AM

View Postmacosxnerd101, on 07 October 2013 - 09:31 AM, said:

You've had high school physics, trig or calculus right? Apply what you learned there to particle motion.

I'm studying not in the high school, I'm at the 11th grade. And I know only how to add vectors. Pretty much that's it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#18 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 October 2013 - 09:45 AM

A good introduction to vectors. You need to do some reading rather than expecting us to hold your hand through vector math.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 07 October 2013 - 09:48 AM

I was offering a more conceptual method, with an XNA example. So you get the idea of how it's done and then you can implement it in your game. But of course that supposed you knew how Vectors work and their properties and stuff. So your best bet would be to study up on vectors. Everything in games is done with vectors. (pretty much :P) :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 07 October 2013 - 10:21 AM

Can you take a look?
	private void setVectors(){
		//First vector
		double vectorX1 = player.getX()+10;
		double vectorY1 = player.getY()+10;

//Second vector
		double vectorX2 = mouseX;
		double vectorY2 = mouseY;

//Vector from player to mouse