• (2 Pages)
  • +

20 Replies - 6423 Views - Last Post: 11 October 2013 - 12:10 PM

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Software Deployment in Visual Studio

Post icon  Posted 09 October 2013 - 09:50 AM

In the next few weeks I'll be deploying my first professional software application. The software is written, and I'm just tying up loose ends. For some background: I graduated college in May, and I landed a job at a Tech company that wanted a developer. I am the ONLY developer, and have bulldogged my way through a steep learning curve to get this software written (still learning of course).

Which brings me to my question. I have no clue how to publish real software. Don't get me wrong, I'm reading tuts and documentation, but that will only get me so far. My test version of the software is published using ClickOnce right now. I know (now) that I have to deploy it with Windows Installer Deployment when we're ready for production. I've never done that before, but I'll figure it out.

My question is more about things you have learned from experience.. things that might help me get my software out there in a professional manner. Are there mistakes that you made? Pitfalls I should watch out for? I have no one to ask but you guys, so I would appreciate any thoughts you are willing to put forth.

Edit: If it matters, I am using Visual Studio Professional 2012, the application is written in C# using WPF

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 4
  • +

Replies To: Software Deployment in Visual Studio

#2 Curtis Rutland  Icon User is online

• (╯°□°)╯︵ (~ .o.)~
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Software Deployment in Visual Studio

Posted 09 October 2013 - 12:28 PM