2 Replies - 881 Views - Last Post: 13 October 2013 - 12:23 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Date handling in Controller .permit function

Posted 12 October 2013 - 09:30 AM

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to ruby and rails, and this is the only snag I've run into where endlessly searching the internet has yielded nothing in terms of a solution. Some background:

All I'm trying to do is have a user register an account successfully. It throws an error saying that "birthdate(2i), birthdate(1i) and birthdate(3i) are unpermitted parameters." This is the view where the user enters their information.

<h1> Create an Account </h1>

<h3 align="right"><%= link_to "Home", root_path %></h3>

<%= form_tag({controller: "users", action: "create"}, action: "/users", method: "post") do %>
  <%= label_tag(:username, "Username") %>
  <%= text_field(:user, :username) %>
  <br />

<%= label_tag(:password, "Password") %>
  <%= password_field(:user, :password) %>
  <br />

<%= label_tag(:birthdate, "Date of Birth") %>
  <%= date_select(:user, :birthdate, start_year: 1900, use_two_digit_numbers: true, order: [:month, :day, :year]) %>
  <br />

<%= label_tag(:gender, "Gender") %>
  <%= radio_button(:user, :gender, "M") %>
  <%= label_tag(:genderM, "M") %>
  <%= radio_button(:user, :gender, "F") %>
  <%= label_tag(:genderF, "F") %>
  <br />

<%= label_tag(:email, "E-mail Address") %>
  <%= email_field(:user, :email) %>
  <br />

<%= submit_tag("Register") %>
<% end %>

Next, the controller:
def create
  #puts :birthdate[:year].to_i 

# @clean_dob = params[:user]['birthdate(1i)'] + params[:user]['birthdate(2i)'] + params[:user]['birthdate(3i)']

puts params[:user]

@user = User.new(params[:user].permit(:username, :password, :gender, :email, :birthdate => []))

puts @user.birthdate

if @user.save
    redirect_to users_path
  else
    render 'register'
  end
end