14 Replies - 2321 Views - Last Post: 04 December 2013 - 08:43 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Major In CS

Posted 14 October 2013 - 09:27 PM

Hello everyone,
This is actually my first post on here, and I'm actually stoked that I found a rather active forum for people majoring/majored in CS/CIS.

On to the topic, I'm in my first semester in college (attending Valdosta State University) with my focus being a BA in CS.
I'm finishing up CS 1010 (basically its a Python programming class). But I started looking in to my checklist for graduation, it's pretty well rounded with programming courses (requiring a minimum of 50 hours of CS classes) the rest are math, and core classes. However looking in to the CS classes that give me the option of picking one from a few, I noticed UNIX programming on the list. Now this might sound odd (honestly idk) but I'm completely unfamiliar with UNIX. I intend on focusing on software engineering and game development. (Dream is to work for microsoft, square enix, bethesda, or any of the higher end gaming companies) Anyway getting off topic. I was wondering as to what exactly this class is, and if I am focusing on the software and game development side of CS, would it be a class worth taking or would something along the lines of Web Programming be more worth while?

Sorry for the long post, and don't let the topic limit you to what you talk about. I'm all for hearing everyones experiences and personal thoughts on things. This is my dream career so I want to know and learn everything I possibly can especially from those already in the field.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Major In CS

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Major In CS

Posted 14 October 2013 - 10:07 PM