5 Replies - 681 Views - Last Post: 30 October 2013 - 10:57 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

What can I do daily to improve abailites as a game dev

Posted 16 October 2013 - 06:29 AM

Hello guys, I have a question. What can I do daily to improve my game development abilities? I am a college student that does not have a lot of time to accomplish the things I want to do. I am currently taking 19 hours and homework gets in the way of everything. I am a computer science major yes, but My classes aren't going the route I want to go to. What little time I have a day what can I do to make it benefit me more towards a game development career?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What can I do daily to improve abailites as a game dev

• Here to help.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What can I do daily to improve abailites as a game dev

Posted 16 October 2013 - 06:32 AM

Program games.

I don't know that there's an easy answer, but I do know that nothing is as important as practice and "doing".

Read every book on game programming you can find and make games. It would be nice if you could focus on the exact path you need, but I'm not sure that even the experts can agree on what that path is.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

• Dreaming Coder
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 16 October 2013 - 07:37 AM

I would second BBeck. Ultimately, you simply have to program. A lot.

Don't think you have to program game stuff. You can't focus until you have a strong foundation to work from. Don't assume all the CS abstraction you learn early on has nothing to do with game development; it does.

To be a good game developer, or any kind of developer, you must be a programmer first. And game development, simply, is some of the most complex and rigorous programming you can do.