1 Replies - 4285 Views - Last Post: 30 October 2013 - 01:11 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How do I run a method from another class in objective C

Posted 22 October 2013 - 02:03 PM

Hey I'm a complete beginner with objective c and more then a little confused, was hoping someone could help me out- I have created this method in a class called ProgrammersCalc.m that looks like this

- (IBAction )resetDisplay:(id)sender
 { 
[_display setString:@"0"]; 
}

this method should set the "display variable" to zero, which is what I want it to do.

In ProgrammersCalc.h I have included this
 - (IBAction)resetDisplay:(id)sender; 

which I hope is the right code, now I've got another class called QCViewController.m where I have a segmented controller action, I don't need help with that as its other operations are working fine. In here I want to be able to run my resetDisplay method so it will reset it - I have tried this in my segmented control if statement as well as other things.

ProgrammersCalc resetDisplay;

as the code, which I know is wrong and it obviously doesn't work. I cant figure out what is the right syntax. So basically I need help. Cheers in advance.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How do I run a method from another class in objective C

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How do I run a method from another class in objective C

Posted 30 October 2013 - 01:11 PM

What you want to do is go into your QCViewController.m file, and do this:

#import "QCViewController.h"
#import "ProgrammersCalc.h"

@implementation QCViewController 

// wherever you need to access the resetDisplay:(id)sender method, just insert these lines.
ProgrammersCalc *pCalc = [[ProgrammersCalc alloc] init]; // pretty much just creates an object that is associated with the ProgrammersCalc class
[pCalc resetDisplay: //sender goes here]; // this is how you would call a function from another class.
@end