3 Replies - 466 Views - Last Post: 27 October 2013 - 01:13 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Complete noob here: need a specific problem solved.

Posted 24 October 2013 - 07:52 PM

The task at hand is quite simple, make a short program that asks for a cpsc prerequisite (number 217,219, or 233) and a math prerequisite (217 or 251) and if you have one of those classes as a prerequisite then it should say prerequisites met, if not then prerequisites not met. My code goes as follows (dont laugh, literally the biggest python noob):

cpsc=input("Which cpsc course have you taken (only pick one): ")
math=input("which math course have you taken (only pick one): ")

if cpsc==(217 or 219 or 233) and math ==(217 or 251)
         print("prerequisites met")
else
         print("prerequisites not met")

every input i have it only gives me the else print, im assuming its a problem with the comparisons in cpsc== and math==, what can i do to make this work? any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

the else had a : too

This post has been edited by jon.kiparsky: 24 October 2013 - 09:09 PM
Reason for edit:: [code] tags

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Complete noob here: need a specific problem solved.

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Complete noob here: need a specific problem solved.

Posted 24 October 2013 - 09:07 PM

Try evaluating the expression 217 or 219 or 233 in the interpreter.

English conjunctions are not like conjunctions in programming languages. For a start, work at arbitrary levels: the rule is (roughly) "if you can substitute P' for P, then you can also substitute "P' and P" for P, or you can substitute "P' or P". (notice also that "and" and "or" are almost synonymous in that sentence...)

This is NOT how they work in Python. Basically, you're hoping for some sort of distributive law:

if cpsc==(217 or 219 or 233) =>

if cpsc==217 or cpsc==219 or cpsc==233