2 Replies - 306 Views - Last Post: 21 July 2014 - 04:00 AM

#1 DaneAU  Icon User is offline

  • Great::Southern::Land
  • member icon

Reputation: 286
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,619
  • Joined: 15-May 08

Telnet - Terminal and Function Keys (F3)

Posted 30 October 2013 - 05:09 PM

I am creating a new install image for deployment, upgrading from a previous deployment of Fedora Core 4 to Linux Mint 15. I have the telnet session to the server working and all keys are operating as expected, with one exception and that is the F3 key.

Wireshark & Ethereal have enabled me to ascertain what data is being transmitted between the client and server. We use Anzio (Telnet client) under windows and xterm under linux Fedora Core.

Under xorg.conf for both keyboard models the XkbModel is set to pc105, and XkbLayout is set to "us". I am wondering if this is an issue in relation to the terminal type.

Below is the relative data transmitted to the server on Keypress of the required function keys. Green indicates the key is working as expected.

Posted Image

If anyone can provide advice as to how I can modify or set \033OR or change the mint terminal to send the same keycodes as that of either Anzio or Fedora, I would be most appreciative.

Should I remain with Fedora and KDE rather than changing to Gnome, is this where the issue lies?

Thanks

Note
I do not wish to make any alterations on the destination server as this is a production server and messing with how any keycodes transmitted are handled could have catastrophic ramifications. It is preferable this this be handled on the client side.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Telnet - Terminal and Function Keys (F3)

#2 Valek  Icon User is offline

  • The Real Skynet
  • member icon

Reputation: 543
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,713
  • Joined: 08-November 08

Re: Telnet - Terminal and Function Keys (F3)

Posted 10 July 2014 - 05:17 PM

Have you tried using showkey with the --scancodes and --keycodes arguments, independently? Then you can use the scancodes and keycodes obtained in this manner, and apply it to the Mint session using setkeycodes.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 DaneAU  Icon User is offline

  • Great::Southern::Land
  • member icon

Reputation: 286
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,619
  • Joined: 15-May 08

Re: Telnet - Terminal and Function Keys (F3)

Posted 21 July 2014 - 04:00 AM

Hi Valek, thanks for the response in relation to this issue. Thankfully I no longer have to resolve this issue as I moved jobs. In the end the issue was believed to be on the server, rather than the client and was left on the basis of the vendor configuring the server and investigating it from that angle. This issue was not related to any one distribution, as a number were sampled aside from Mint including CentOS, Fedora & Debian.

I really appreciate your response. Thanks :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1