5 Replies - 1386 Views - Last Post: 04 November 2013 - 07:22 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Help with life/job issue...

Posted 31 October 2013 - 09:02 AM

Hi everyone! I have a major life issue. I've been out of work from a minor back injury from a job as a courier with one of the large transportation companies for over 2 years now. I stay home with my children currently BUT need to get back to work to make money! My back is much better now, although, it's still recommended that I don't lift too much weight to reinjure myself. I've always liked programming as I did some C++ in college over 10 years ago. I've also always been intrigued by amazing web design.

So, back in February 2013 I started studying Web Development at Treehouse.com. I was doing great but now I don't always have time because I don't regularly have someone to watch the kids (4 and 2years). I want to go the route of learning Ruby and Ruby on Rails. It takes a lot of time as we all know.

My wife and her family are now pressuring me to get a job or else pretty much. My job skills are limited as I used to be in sales but DON'T feel comfortable selling something I don't believe in at this point in life. It has nothing to do with not wanting to work I just have a major desire to work on what I know I like and will hopefully bring in money.

I would love to get a job in web development but I don't think my skills are up to par for anything out there right now without learning a lot more. (I could be wrong) I went through most of Treehouse's CSS and all of their HTML courses but I don't feel that confident. OMG I just don't know what to do and the pressure is on big time. We're just not making enough money and if I get some measly job I'll lose my worker's compensation money.