3 Replies - 1560 Views - Last Post: 16 November 2013 - 06:36 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Help! (Job Interview with HP)

Posted 14 November 2013 - 12:15 PM

Hey everyone! To get started, I just wanted to say that I'm new here but looking forward to becoming a part of your community :)/>/>/>/>

So yesterday I got a call from HP, who apparently had my resume on file from previously -- they are looking to hire me as a software developer and asked me a few questions over the phone and then set me up with an in-person interview for Monday.

A little background: I graduated with my Bachelor's degree in IT about a year ago (I started with CS but switched to IT because I was interested in more than just programming at the time). I live in a small city and finding a good tech job is near impossible -- there are a few but they are mostly for experienced professionals who can jump in already knowing exactly how everything works so there's not much opportunity for "entry-level" kids like me. I am waiting for my fiancee to graduate so moving to a new city is not yet an option (the HP office I will be interviewing at is in a bigger city nearby and I plan on commuting if I get the job). I'd love to get into web app development (Rails or Django) but right now I have no time to learn Ruby/Python extensively and I make practically no money right now so I'll take any job I can get.

I am currently working at an extremely small organization (about 10 people in the entire office) as a "web developer" for slightly more than minimum wage. This was my college job from before I graduated. I am the only one in the building who knows anything about computers so although I build and maintain the website(s) much of my job is providing basic tech support, graphic design/photoshop, etc.