4 Replies - 813 Views - Last Post: 16 November 2013 - 06:33 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Newb need advice on best way to build an app

Posted 15 November 2013 - 01:08 PM

Hello,

I am a NEWB. Trying to self-teach programing and understand what publishing an app entails.

I want to improve my limited programming knowledge.
I rate it a 3.5 out of 10. With 10 being a jedi master.
Experience using Visual Studio Express 2012, NetBeans, MySQl Workbench, C#, PHP, HTLM, CSS.

I want to build a Windows desktop application for my mom who can barely send an email. I would like to use C#/.NET, but I will use another language/platform if it's better suited.

Reasons for writing the application:

1) Increase my programing skills-- so I don't care if there is already a solution available.
2) Enable her to easily input and organize her 3,000+ digital photos (and scanned in paper ones.)
3) Enable her to easily search and display the images on screen.
4) If she later wants to do this...enable her to select/deselect certain images and post them on her personal website so others can search, select and display these images.

The main questions I have are:
(Maybe I should have more, but I am too ignorant to know.)

1) Should I embed a database? If so, which one should I choose as it relates to:
a. the programmer's work to seamlessly embed and potentially interface with her web database
b. my mom's install effort/requirements
c. licensing (probably not an issue for this, but for near future reference on other projects)
i. if I charge for the desktop app?
ii. if desktop app is free and I only charge for the website?
iii. if desktop and website are free and I generate ad revenue from the web site?

2) Regarding Reason 4) I bet just making the whole app web based is a better solution, but that is not going to happen- my mom only wants the images she chooses to be “outside” of what she considers her personal space.