4 Replies - 522 Views - Last Post: 24 November 2013 - 07:32 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Please guide me with first database

Posted 23 November 2013 - 05:03 PM

Hi all,

I am a semi-beginner programmer that understands most of the basics of programming and can write basic applications in Java.

A friend of mine has asked me if I'd help the charity she works for to build implement a database on their website, and I thought this would be a good opportunity to put it on my CV as I'm about to start my second year of a software development BSc (I'm yet to do anything with databases - though I did a bit of study on the theory of relational databases).

I've been given a list of requirements and basically they have a website from which the database will need to be accessed, with various user privileges (I'll need to setup four tiers of user with different privileges). The data I have at moment is in the form of three spreadsheets with various fields (i.e members which has fields surname, first name, email, contact number, address) , and another spreadsheet which holds various data relating to schools (name, contact number, location and so on). They want to be able to search, find and filter various information on the database once it is finished.

My basic questions are:

How difficult for will it be to self teach this for someone that is quite highly computer literate and has a fairly good understand of basic programming.

How long do you think this sort of project will take for a beginner?

What software will I need for this? Will I need to learn a new programming language (I don't know any SQL, nor anything about it yet) or can it be done via a UI? Is Microsoft Access the way to do it?

Apologies for the long and quite general question, but if you could please point me in the right direction I'd be very grateful.

This post has been edited by conure: 23 November 2013 - 05:04 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +