11 Replies - 1570 Views - Last Post: 02 December 2013 - 08:45 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Create and sell a CMS - good idea?

Posted 28 November 2013 - 10:09 AM

Hi,

I'm a student again. I did a apprenticeship as a web developer, so I know how to code etc. I don't have years of experience but I would say I cand build applications with a good and state of the art codebase.

At the moment I'm doing a little learning applications to fresh up my knowledge because I had a little break. I'll probably earn a bit of money with it, but not too much.

At the moment, I'm thinking of way to make money next to my studies. Of course, the first thing I came up with was making homepages. This isn't very good because I would need a designer and I wouldn't code a lot but rather do some Frontend Stuff/HTML,CSS since I can't afford to accept big projects where I'd be involved into coding.

When the above idea came up, I started looking for good CMS. I don't know a lot of CMS in depth but I have worked with quite a few at least once and I never liked any of them. I must say, I never really worked with Drupal or Typo3. There are several facts I really didn't like about all CMS I've come across.

1. They save the template in the database. So I can't use a propery editor to edit. I have to use clumpy, shitty web based editors. (There are some goodweb editors out there though, but never seen them implemented into a CMS.)
2. They have a backend. I don't like to teach any non IT human being how this abstraction of frontend-backend works. It's unituitiv. It's a thing from the 90s when everything started. So I want some nice inline/frontend editing with some kind of control center for the moreadvanced settings which a normal user never has to care about. I know there are some frontend editing plugins etc. but I don't think they are very well designed.