8 Replies - 2268 Views - Last Post: 30 November 2013 - 07:59 PM

#1 shoup923  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 10-October 13

Redirect

Posted 30 November 2013 - 02:00 PM

So let me try to figure this out with the right question. I have XAMPP and instead of giving my colleage my IP address to see the work can I possibly find a application/program to direct say a www.mysite."whatever" to my static ip?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Redirect

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8377
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,138
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Redirect

Posted 30 November 2013 - 02:07 PM

Check out: www.noip.com
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Head MFIC
  • member icon

Reputation: 5066
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,449
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Redirect

Posted 30 November 2013 - 02:11 PM

View Postshoup923, on 30 November 2013 - 05:00 PM, said:

can I possibly find a application/program to direct say a www.mysite."whatever" to my static ip?

That's how dns works, it translates a domain name to an ip address. If your ip is changing then you need a service like no ip, as suggested.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 shoup923  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 10-October 13

Re: Redirect

Posted 30 November 2013 - 02:12 PM

This appears to be what I am looking for. Thank you I'm going to try it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 shoup923  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 10-October 13

Re: Redirect

Posted 30 November 2013 - 03:11 PM

View Postno2pencil, on 30 November 2013 - 02:11 PM, said:

View Postshoup923, on 30 November 2013 - 05:00 PM, said:

can I possibly find a application/program to direct say a www.mysite."whatever" to my static ip?

That's how dns works, it translates a domain name to an ip address. If your ip is changing then you need a service like no ip, as suggested.



I have the program and the address but I can't get it to work. Any advice?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8377
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,138
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Redirect

Posted 30 November 2013 - 03:24 PM

How about you provide more details on "HOW* it is not working.

Remember - we are not there so just saying "it doesn't work" is not helpful.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 shoup923  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 10-October 13

Re: Redirect

Posted 30 November 2013 - 06:56 PM

Sorry. OK so I have the no-ip software up and running along with XAMPP. I open my web browser and type in the address http://mysite.no-ip.biz and then the return I get is that the browser could not connect to the site.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Head MFIC
  • member icon

Reputation: 5066
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,449
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Redirect

Posted 30 November 2013 - 07:07 PM

What is the url that you are trying to redirect?

I assume that you registered a domain name?

Once your domain name is registered, you setup a name server with the registrar. That domain name will need to be whatever the instructions from no-ip tell you to set it. I'm not 100% familiar with it, as I've never used it. You need to then run the no-ip service on your machine to keep their settings updated.

You should be able to run nslookup on your domain name to verify the ip address.

Also this has nothing to do with web development. Moving to networking.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#9 shoup923  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 10-October 13

Re: Redirect

Posted 30 November 2013 - 07:59 PM

View Postno2pencil, on 30 November 2013 - 07:07 PM, said:

What is the url that you are trying to redirect?

I assume that you registered a domain name?

Once your domain name is registered, you setup a name server with the registrar. That domain name will need to be whatever the instructions from no-ip tell you to set it. I'm not 100% familiar with it, as I've never used it. You need to then run the no-ip service on your machine to keep their settings updated.

You should be able to run nslookup on your domain name to verify the ip address.

Also this has nothing to do with web development. Moving to networking.


I will look into this. Thank you.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1