2 Replies - 453 Views - Last Post: 01 December 2013 - 08:45 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Need general information on how game engines are made

Posted 01 December 2013 - 12:10 AM

Hello folks,
So, I started learning Java 10 days ago, so I know i have pretty much everything to learn. I was wondering if some of you could explain to me (very generally of course) about the STRUCTURE of a typical game engine.
By that i mean: what are the elements (physics engine-collision detection, shadowing etc; AI; what else?) of
a typical game engine? What is necessary to learn in order to implement graphics in your code (java or c++ or any
oop language)?
Another issue i have been wondering about is how to BRING IT ALL TOGETHER. So far, i managed to master the basics of java and i get the concept of object oriented programming REALLY WELL (obsessive about maximizing encapsulation etc)
but i just DON'T KNOW what it takes to create a simple game, lets say like conker: live and reloaded.

Example: Say i have written a simple physics engine that deals with collision detection and can calculate the coordinates of two colliding particles. How do i, say, implement GRAPHICS to it so i would actually SEE a collision and not just get a set of values?

I hope i was clear enough. Again, i am really looking for very general info, just to make some order inside my head. But don't hesitate to answer me with technical terms, really whatever your input is on that topic will be great.

Thank you very much

This post has been edited by macosxnerd101: 01 December 2013 - 12:17 AM
Reason for edit:: Removed size formatting

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Need general information on how game engines are made

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Need general information on how game engines are made

Posted 01 December 2013 - 12:21 AM