• (2 Pages)
  • +

19 Replies - 2780 Views - Last Post: 06 December 2013 - 01:20 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

TASK- The Public Needs Fresh 2014 Software for DexDrive Use

Posted 03 December 2013 - 01:22 AM

Hi, Everyone!

I'm new here to D.I.C. forums. I'm a Web Developer, and I know much Javascript (incl. JSON, JQuery, MooTools, Prototype, etc.), HTML, CSS, and PHP scripting lanugages fairly well.
However, unfortunately, I know next to nothing about typical computer programming lanuages (used to build desktop apps), such as C, C++, C#, VB, etc.

The reason for this post is that though oddly enough I have ALL 'complete' ('Express' plus 'Full') versions of MS Visual Studio, ranging from VS 2005 (albeit patched) to VS 2013 installed on my PC (as DreamSpark academic software from my local community college), I don't know how to program in many of the main languages supported by the software, and I need to build a much needed desktop app soon.

I have attempted to start a project in C# to build a Windows 7 'Device Stage-compatible' driver (where the product icon shows up in the Windows 7 control panel under 'Veiw Devices and Printers') for the now, and long-time, defunct company, Interact's, PlayStation, and Nintendo 64 DexDrives.

The Hardware is only about $10.00 each on eBay, brand new, and I have both the Nintendo 64 type, and PlayStation type. However, as many people who brought it, as I did, have discovered, there is no current software, neither as a [current Windows 7 Device Stage-compatible] driver nor application to utilize them except some random ugly software made many years ago. So, about 2 weeks ago I started this endeavor on my own during my spare time, and aptly named my solution 'Dexware'. However I have only a shell of a program using 'This Ribbon UI code'.
I have posted what I have (incl. compiled [non-functional] application, splash screen, images, and solution file) in a zip file uploaded 'HERE'.